Kovind vs Meira: Presidential counting and result today


Kovind vs Meira: Presidential counting and result today

New Delhi : The Presidential counting will take place today, following which the fourteenth President of India will be announced.

The candidate who secures at least one vote more than 50 per cent of the total votes will enter into the Rashtrapati Bhavan.

The Election was held on 17th of this month and around 99 per cent voting was recorded.

President Pranab Mukherjee will demit the office on July 25.

Congress-led opposition nominated Meira Kumar to face National Democratic Alliance (NDA) candidate Ram Nath Kovind for the presidential race.

Ram Nath Kovind, former Governor of Bihar, was announced as the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led NDA's candidate for the post of President of India by BJP president Amit Shah on June 19 2017.

Kovind, a leader and a politician from the BJP, filed his nomination for the election on June 23, 2017.

Meira Kumar, the former Speaker of Lok Sabha, was announced as the Indian National Congress (INC)-lead opposition's candidate for the post of President of India, after a meeting held on the June 22, 2017.

Both Kovind and Kumar are from the Dalit community and have canvassed hard by visiting states to seek support of legislators.

Ballot boxes from 29 state capitals and the union territory of Puducherry have reached Parliament House amid tight security.

The Presidential election on July 17 saw 100 percent polling of 11 states. A total of 771 members of Parliament and 4,109 legislators were eligible to cast votes. (ANI)

Similar Posts

Share it