Lok Sabha ruckus: Speaker Sumitra Mahajan suspends six Congress MPs


Lok Sabha ruckus: Speaker Sumitra Mahajan suspends six Congress MPs

New Delhi : After the Lok Sabha witnessed uproar during the zero hour, Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on Monday suspended six Congress MPs for five days citing unruly behavior.

The MP's are Gourav Gogoi, K. Suresh, Adhiranjan Chowdhary, Ranjeet Ranjan, Sushmita Dev and MK Raghwan.

Speaking to ANI, Congress leader Ranjeet Ranjan said, "Backward class and minorities are currently scared of lynching that is happening in the country. We are fighting for the people even Prime Minister Narendra Modi also said that the government is not with the fake Gaurakshak- Whichever state BJP rules lynching is occurring there. BJP has always been corrupt in ways and practice. And when we stand up for the justice we are suspended".

The members threw pieces of paper and disrupted proceedings during zero hour when mob lynching and Bofors scam was brought up.

The Speaker has suspended them and adjourned the Lok Sabha for the day.

Earlier today, the Opposition members demanded the Prime Minister Narendra Modi's presence to discuss the incidents of lynching in the name of cow protection.

Congress members tore and flung papers on the Chair and raised slogans against the government.

Even after the Speaker's repeated appeals for calm went unheeded and she adjourned the House for lunch. The ruling party members demanded the re-opening of the Bofors case. (ANI)

Similar Posts

Share it